The Board of Scientific Counselors is comprised of eminent scientists with expertise in alcohol research and related areas of scientific endeavor. Employed outside of NIH, they periodically convene to review the quality of NIAAA intramural science and scientists and advise the Scientific Director. NIAAA is most appreciative of their efforts.


Board Members 2015

Kathleen T. Brady, M.D., Ph.D.  (Chair)
Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Director, Clinical Neuroscience Division
Associate Dean, Clinical and Translational Research
Director, South Carolina Clinical and Translational Research Institute
Medical University of South Carolina
67 President Street
Charleston, SC 29425
Laura E. Nagy, Ph.D.
Professor of Molecular Medicine
Staff, Departments of Pathobiology and Gastroenterology
Director, Center for Liver Disease Research
Lerner Research Institute Vice Chair for External Affairs
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
9500 Euclid Ave
Cleveland, OH 44195
Eric Nestler, M.D., Ph.D.  
Professor & Chair Neuroscience
Professor Pharmacology and Systems Therapeutics
Professor Psychiatry
Icahn Medical Institute Floor 10 Room 10-23
1425 Madison Avenue
New York, NY 10029
James M. Ntambi, Ph.D. 
Katherine Berns Von Donk Steenbock Professor
Chair, Department of Nutritional Sciences
Department of Biochemistry
University of Wisconsin- Madison
415B Biochemistry Addition
433 Babcock Drive
Madison, WI 53706-1544
Dorit Ron, Ph.D.  
Professor and Endowed Chair in Cell Biology of Addiction in Neurology
Director Alcohol Center for Translational Genetics
Department of Neurology, UCSF
675 Nelson Rising Lane Room 414A Box 0663
San Francisco CA 94143-0663 
Charles N. Serhan, Ph.D.  
Professor and Director, Center for Experimental Therapeutics and Reperfusion Injury 
Brigham and Women's Hospital and 
The Simon Gelman Professor of Anaesthesia (Biochemistry & Molecular Pharmacology) Harvard Medical School and 
Professor of Oral Medicine, Infection and Immunity at 
Harvard School of Dental Medicine
Harvard Institutes of Medicine
77 Avenue Louis Pasteur (HIM 829)
Boston, MA 02115
C. Fernando Valenzuela, M.D., Ph.D.  
Regents’ Professor of Neuroscience
Scientific Director, New Mexico Alcohol Research Center
Department of Neurosciences
The University of New Mexico School of Medicine
MSC08 4740
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87131-0001

Executive Secretary

Kunos, George, M.D., Ph.D.
Scientific Director
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-9304