Centers and Training Working Group Roster

Revised June 2017
 

Division of Epidemiology and Prevention Research (DEPR)

Promotes and supports applied, translational, and methodological research on the epidemiology and prevention of hazardous alcohol consumption and related behaviors, alcohol-related mortality and morbidity, and other alcohol-related problems and consequences.

Gregory Bloss, Ph.D.
Program Director  
Phone: 301-443-3865
Email: Gregory.Bloss@nih.gov

Rosalind Breslow, Ph.D.
Program Director  
Phone: 301-594-6231
Email: rbreslow@mail.nih.gov

Marcia Scott, Ph.D.
Program Director  
Phone: 307-402-6328
Email: mscott@mail.nih.gov

Mariela Shirley, Ph.D.
Program Director  
Phone: 301-443-9787
Email: shirleym@mail.nih.gov

Division of Metabolism and Health Effects (DMHE)

Supports basic and clinical research studies to identify the molecular pathways through which alcohol causes organ and tissue damage, with the goal of identifying targets for drug discovery to prevent or treat alcohol-related disorders.

Bill Dunty, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: 301-443-7351
Email: Willliam.Dunty@nih.gov
Web: https://www.niaaa.nih.gov/about-niaaa/our-staff/bill-dunty-phd

Dale Hereld, M.D., Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: 301-443-0912
Email: Dale.Hereld@nih.gov
Web: https://www.niaaa.nih.gov/about-niaaa/our-staff/dale-hereld-md-phd

Kathy Jung, Ph.D.
Acting Director
Phone: 301-443-8744
Email: Kathy.Jung@nih.gov
Web: https://www.niaaa.nih.gov/about-niaaa/our-staff/kathy-jung-phd

Li Lin, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone:
Email: Li.Lin@nih.gov
Web: https://content.niaaa.nih.gov/about-niaaa/our-staff/li-lin-phd

Andras Orosz, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: 301-443-2193
Email: Andra.Orosz@nih.gov
Web: https://www.niaaa.nih.gov/about-niaaa/our-staff/andras-orosz-phd

Svetlana Radaeva, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: 301-443-1189
Email: Svetlana.Radaeva@nih.gov
Web: https://www.niaaa.nih.gov/about-niaaa/our-staff/svetlana-radaeva-phd

Joe Wang, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: 301-451-0747
Email: Joe.Wang1@nih.gov
Web: https://www.niaaa.nih.gov/about-niaaa/our-staff/h-joe-wang-phd

Division of Medications Development (DMD)

Focuses on pharmacological treatment for alcohol use disorder (AUD) and supports clinical research programs.

Dan Falk, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: 301-443-0788
Email: falkde@mail.nih.gov
Web: https://www.niaaa.nih.gov/about-niaaa/our-staff/daniel-falk-phd

Raye Litten, Ph.D.
Acting Director
Phone: 301-443-0636
Email: rlitten@willco.niaaa.nih.gov
Web: https://www.niaaa.nih.gov/about-niaaa/our-staff/raye-z-litten-phd

Division of Neuroscience and Behavior (DNB)

Promotes research on ways in which neuronal and behavioral systems are influenced by genetic, developmental, and environmental factors in conjunction with alcohol exposure to engender alcohol abuse and alcoholism.

Changhai Cui, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: 301-443-1678
Email: Changhai.Cui@nih.gov

Mark Egli, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: 301-594-6382
Email: megli@willco.niaaa.nih.gov

Ivana Grakalic, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: 301-443-7600
Email: igrakalic@mail.nih.gov

John Matochik, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: 301-451-7319
Email: jmatochi@mail.nih.gov

Antonio Noronha, Ph.D.
Director
Phone: 301-443-7722
Email: anoronha@willco.niaaa.nih.gov

Abbas Parsian, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: 301-443-5733
Email: parsiana@mail.nih.gov

Elizabeth Powell, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: 301-443-0786
Email: elizabeth.powell3@nih.gov

Soundar Regunathan, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: 301-443-1192
Email: soundar.regunathan@nih.gov

Ben Xu, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone:
Email: benxu1@mail.nih.gov

Division of Treatment and Recovery Research (DTRR)

Supports research to better understand the natural history of excessive drinking and alcohol use disorders and factors associated with positive change.

Anita Bechtholt, Ph.D.
Program Director
Phone: 301-443-9334
Email:  anita.bechtholt@nih.gov

Bob Huebner, Ph.D.
Acting Director
Phone: 301-446-0787
Email: bhuebner@willco.niaaa.nih.gov

Deidra Roach, MD
Program Director
Phone: 301-443-5820
Email: droach@mail.nih.gov

Office of the Director

Lynn Morin
Public Health Analyst
Phone: 301-402-1076
Email: lynn.morin@nih.gov

Office of Extramural Activities (OEA)

Responsible for extramural grant and contract review, the management of chartered initial review groups and special emphasis panels, and all grants management activities.

Abraham Bautista, Ph.D.
Director
Office of Extramural Activities
Phone: 301-443-9737
Email: bautista@mail.nih.gov

Extramural Project Review Branch
Beata Buzas, Ph.D.
Scientific Review Administrator
Phone: 301-443-0800
Email: bbuzas@mail.nih.gov

Philippe Marmillot, Ph.D.
Scientific Review Officer
Phone: 301-443-2861
Email: marmillotp@mail.nih.gov

R V Srinivas, Ph.D.
Chief
Phone: 301-451-2067
Email: srinivar@mail.nih.gov

Grants Management Branch (GMB)

Responsible for fiscal, business management, and administrative issues relating to specific grants and grant programs, federal regulations, and NIH policies.

Lauren Early
Grants Management Specialist
Phone: 301-443-2434
Email: Lauren.Early@nih.gov

Judy Fox
Chief
Phone: 301-443-4704
Email: jfox@mail.nih.gov

Heather Olusoga
Grants Management Specialist
Phone: 301-443-8767
Email: Heather.Olusoga@nih.gov

Jeff Thurston
Grants Management Specialist
Phone: 301-443-3891
Email: jeffrey.thurston@nih.gov